I am a facebook delete-er

I am a facebook delete-er

I’m one of those people that is weird about getting rid of things.

Like the anti-hoarder.

“Yay! I found something to put in my thrift store donation box! Ooh, what else is in this closet I can get rid of?”

I feel the same way about facebook friends. I will often go through my newsfeed and delete “friends”, unfollow pages, “unlike” things that are putting a lot of content on my newsfeed and generally tidy it up.

GASP. I know.

My name is Adrienne, and I’m a delete-er. (Hi, Adrienne)

Let me explain why. Facebook has many uses…

  • Networking
  • Socializing
  • Flirting
  • Making new friends
  • Reconnecting with old friends
  • Keeping in touch with social groups and events
  • Etc.

Everybody has a different reason for having facebook, and who they add, and why.

My facebook is very personal. I don’t use facebook to “make new friends”. I often am tempted to delete it all together, but I keep it because we have friends all over the place. We also don’t get to see some family members as often as we’d like, and it is a great way for them to see pictures of the kids.

I want to be able to rant about rashes, or personal issues I’m struggling with, or share intimate details or trivial things without wondering who is really looking at that private information. If I don’t know you, there’s a good chance you aren’t my facebook friend (or you are getting ready to be deleted!).

Oftentimes, I will meet someone that I really like or connect with at say, a function, or hanging out with a mutual friend, and so we each go home and “add” each other right away….

Then I never see them again. We don’t initiate any further hanging out. Maybe we have barely ever said 2 words to each other.  I don’t delete people right away….Sometimes I wait and see if anything is going to come of the friendship.

“Deleting”, for me, is not a drama thing.

I am the ruler of my little section of Facebook Land.

I also block all games, apps, and silly things that get on my nerves on facebook. Maybe that stuff doesn’t bother you. I’m glad you’re enjoying crushing your candy and farming your ville. I just don’t like it on my newsfeed. I feel like I’m choosing to waste time on facebook, knowing that it is taking my heart and attention away from my kids and my duties and all the other things I pretend facebook doesn’t distract me from…. So I try to be really selective about what comes on my newsfeed.

I want only things that bring me joy on my facebook newsfeed. That’s not to say it’s all hearts and ponies, but if our relationship makes me uncomfortable, I may delete you or hide you. No offense, I just don’t want that in my face everytime I click my Facebook app. If you are constantly selling things or having “parties” and things that I don’t want to go to, I may delete you. Not every time, but just when I feel like it is taking over my phone (and perhaps we are really not friends/don’t talk to each other and you just want to sell me things? hmm?)

Proverbs 25:17

17 Let your foot be seldom in your neighbor’s house,
    lest he have his fill of you and hate you.

That’s how I feel about facebook sometimes. There is a reason “taking a facebook break” is totally a thing. Every time we click on it, we are inviting everybody’s stuff into our house. Into our day. Into our moments.

Please don’t hate me if I delete you. I’m in my metaphorical bathrobe here.

Leave a Reply

